Jigsaw Preschool



At the heart of our curriculum

Within the group, all children are supported in developing at their own pace.

Our curriculum is planned to meet the needs of each individual child. By means of developmentally appropriate play activities and a high level of individual input, we offer a curriculum which leads to nationally approved learning outcomes and prepares children to progress with confidence to the national curriculum when coming to the end of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). Working in partnership to achieve School readiness.

"My daughter always goes in happy and can’t wait to tell me about her day when I pick her up."
- Debbie Walls, Parent

We work on the seven areas of learning and development that is required to shape the educational programme in Early Years settings.

Jigsaw Preschool Crewkerne
Jigsaw Preschool Crewkerne
Jigsaw Preschool Crewkerne

7 areas of learning and development

The three prime areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

Communication and Language Development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

Physical Development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control and movement. Children must be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food and exercise, as well as encouraging independence in their own health and self care.

Personal, Social and Emotional Development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to mange their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and how to have confidence in their own abilities.

4 specific areas

We also support the children in the four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.


Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems and other written materials) to ignite their interests.


Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces and measures.


Understanding of the World involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore observe and find out about people, places technology and the environment.


Expressive arts and design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feeling through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role play and design and technology.